DUI Hearing in NJ, But Now Moved to NC

Happenstance

Jurisdiction
North Carolina
Hi - When I was a resident of New Jersey back in July, I was arrested for impaired driving based on the field test. But back at the station, I blew a .07, which is under the limit. My virtual hearing has been delayed until next week because the prosecutor had a long illness. But now I am a resident of North Carolina. I have a NC drivers license and my car is registered here in NC. I am hoping they will drop the DUI back in NJ because my BAC was under the limit. But if they don't and I am forced to plead guilty in NJ, what will happen in NC with my driving privileges? Thanks

Hi - When I was a resident of New Jersey back in July, I was arrested for impaired driving based on the field test. But back at the station, I blew a .07, which is under the limit. My virtual hearing has been delayed until next week because the prosecutor had a long illness. But now I am a resident of North Carolina. I have a NC drivers license and my car is registered here in NC. I am hoping they will drop the DUI back in NJ because my BAC was under the limit. But if they don't and I am forced to plead guilty in NJ, what will happen in NC with my driving privileges? Thanks

The phrase "legal limit" is a misnomer. The "limit" in question is the per se limit, which means that you are automatically presumed to be impaired at that point. One can still be convicted of driving impaired at a lower level, but they will need to offer additional evidence to show that you were impaired.

You should have an attorney to assist you with this.

But if they don't and I am forced to plead guilty in NJ, what will happen in NC with my driving privileges?

As phrased, this is a pointless question because one of the premises of the question cannot be true. You will not be "forced to plead guilty."